Western Australia's Specialist Library Supplier
  • Fast delivery
  • No minimum orders
  • No lock-in contracts
  • Competitive prices
  • Free metro delivery
  • (08) 9361 4211

News and Events

  • Prime Minister's Literary Award 2017- Winners Announced
    The 2017 Prime Minister’s Literary Award Winners were announced on Friday December 1st, 2017, and we were so pleased to see that Ryan O’Neill’s 'Their Brilliant Careers' take out the big prize for the Fiction category. This wonderful book is made up of fictional biographies of zany Australian writers, and it is a delight to read. Other category winners include Anthony Lawrence for 'Headwaters' (Poetry), Nicholas Rothwell for 'Quicksilver' (Non-Fiction), Elizabeth Tynan for 'Atomic Thunder' (Australian History), Cath Crowley for 'Words in Deep Blue' (Young Adult), Bob Graham for 'Home in the Rain' and Wendy Orr for 'Dragonfly Song' (Children's Fiction.)
    13/12/2017

  • Westbooks is Moving!
    We are moving premises on the 12th of October 2017. Please visit us at our new address, 152 Burswood Road, Burswood.
    10/10/2017


  • A Day of Literary Feasting at Nedlands Library
    Join the Nedlands Library Team on October 25 for A Day of Literary Feasting, featuring Dawn Barker, Steven Marcuson, Bernice Barry and Janelle McCulloch. Bookings are now open. Don't miss out on this full day of reading and writing, with a series of talks and workshops with acclaimed local authors. Register at the link below.
    27/09/2017

  • Nanowrimo is coming! Get ready to write…
    November is National Novel Writing Month. Make sure you like Westbooks on Facebook to be notified about events happening at Public Libraries around Western Australia, as well as to receive book recommendations. Librarians can check out our list of essential books on creative writing, which contains 30 books for 30 days of Nanowrimo motivation. Check out https://nanowrimo.org/ for information on Nanowrimo or to sign up and write a 50 000 word novel in the month of November.
    27/09/2017

  • Extinctions by Josephine Wilson wins the 2017 Miles Franklin Award
    West Australian readers everywhere were rejoicing last Thursday night when it was announced that Josephine Wilson's novel EXTINCTIONS had won the 2017 Miles Franklin Award. Wilson is the 5th West Australian to win the Award, with other past winners including Tim Winton and Elizabeth Jolley. Congratulations to Josephine and the team at UWA Publishing!
    11/09/2017

  • Introducing Diego and the Rangers of the Vastlantic
    Imagine a world where the past, present and future have collided. A world that is timeless. This is the world Diego Ribera was born into...For fans of Rick Riordan and Brian Selznick, author-artist Armand Baltazar introduces the first book in a new fantasy adventure series.Over 150 full-colour illustrations bring this cinematic story to life! Click on the links below to check out a behind the scenes interview with author Armand Baltazar. This book would make a wonderful prize book for end of year subject awards at your school, and gets two thumbs up from Westbooks Children's Literature Specialist, Heather.
    06/09/2017

  • 2017 Ned Kelly Award Shortlist
    Congratulations to the authors shortlisted for this year's Ned Kelly Award for Australian Crime Writing. This prize is always incredibly popular with readers and we were pleasantly surprised to see a real mix of cross-over titles as well as the usual fare for this year's list. For a full list of shortlistees and to order, please click on the ordering link below.
    22/08/2017

  • N K Jemisin wins 2017 Hugo Award for The Obelisk Gate
    Congratulations to N K Jemisin who took out the 2017 Hugo Award for Best Novel at the ceremony which took place on August 11th in Helsinki, Finland, for her novel The Obelisk Gate. The novel is second in a series of three, the first book of which (The Fifth Season) was also a Hugo winner. We have high hopes for book 3 which is called The Stone Sky, and look forward to the forthcoming television adaptation.
    22/08/2017

  • 2017 Man Booker Prize Longlist Announced
    The 2017 Man Booker Prize Longlist was announced at 7.01am this morning. Congratulations to the 13 authors longlisted for this prestigious award! Speak to your sales consultant if you would like to place an order for any of the below titles, or log in to view a list of titles and order via the website. 4321 by Paul Auster (Faber & Faber) Days Without End by Sebastian Barry (Faber & Faber) History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund (Weidenfeld & Nicolson, Orion Books) Exit West by Mohsin Hamid (Hamish Hamilton, Penguin Random House) Solar Bones by Mike McCormack (Canongate) Reservoir 13 by Jon McGregor (4th Estate, HarperCollins) Elmet by Fiona Mozley (JM Originals, John Murray) The Ministry of Utmost Happiness by Arundhati Roy (Hamish Hamilton, Penguin Random House) Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders (Bloomsbury) Home Fire by Kamila Shamsie (Bloomsbury) Autumn by Ali Smith (Hamish Hamilton, Penguin Random House) Swing Time by Zadie Smith (Hamish Hamilton, Penguin Random House) The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead (Fleet, Little, Brown)
    27/07/2017

  • 2017 Walker Books Australia School and Library Book Bonus is on again!
    The wonderful Walker Books offer is on again! This always a really popular offer. All you need to do is order $500RRP worth of Walker Books from Westbooks and Walker Books will donate a book pack valued at $500 to your library. Ask your sales representative for an order form and a copy of the cover sheet to claim your prize. All books ordered attract your usual Westbooks discount, so this is a very good offer to take up indeed! NEW FOR 2017, order your Walker Books offer online using www.westbooks.com.au Offer ends September 1, 2017. 500 fabulous titles (including some new for 2017) to choose from.
    23/05/2017

  • The 2017 Miles Franklin Award Longlist has been announced
    The 2017 Longlist for the Miles Franklin Award is: The Easy Way Out by Steven Amsterdam, An Isolated Incident by Emily Maguire, The Last Days of Ava Langdon by Mark O'Flynn, Their Brilliant Careers by Ryan O'Neill, A Loving, Faithful Animal by Josephine Rowe, Waiting by Philip Salom, Where the Trees Were by Inga Simpson, Hold by Kirsten Tranter and Extinctions by Josephine Wilson. Congratulations to everyone on the longlist. We look forward to the shortlist and winner being announced later in the year.
    02/05/2017