Western Australia's Specialist Library Supplier
  • Fast delivery
  • No minimum orders
  • No lock-in contracts
  • Competitive prices
  • Free metro delivery
  • (08) 9361 4211

News and Events

  • Jimmy Barnes' Working Class Boy Film
    Jimmy Barnes' 2016 memoir, 'Working Class Boy', has inspired the documentary that will premiere in theatres nation wide this month. The film will explore the tumultuous upbringing of one of Australia's most iconic artist, and showcase how his rocky path to the top paved the way for his success. The film will be featured in theatres from Thursday, 23rd August through Universal Pictures. Jimmy will also appear at the 2018 Melbourne Writer's Festival on Sunday, 26th August to promote the documentary. If you haven't got a copy of the original bestseller in your library's collection, make sure to order the movie tie-in below. You can also view the trailer by following the link - grab a few extra copies of this sensational memoir in antisipation for what is bound to be a legendary month for Australian literature and rock'n'roll.
    09/08/2018

  • The Ned Kelly Awards 2018 shortlists announced
    The Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA) has announced the shortlists for this year’s Ned Kelly Awards for Australian crime writing. The winners will be announced 26th August during the Melbourne Writers Fest.
    06/08/2018

  • 2018 Kibble Literary Awards Winners Announced
    The 2018 Kibble Literary Award has been snapped up by established author, Fiona McFarlane, for her 2016 contemporary fiction novel, 'The High Places'. First time author, Sarah Krasnostein, has been chosen as the winner of the 2018 Dobbie Award for her lauded 2017 biography, 'The Trauma Cleaner'. The Nita B Kibble Literary Awards for Women Writers recognise the works of women writers who have published fiction or non-fiction classified as 'life writing'. This includes novels, autobiographies, biographies, literature and any writing with a strong personal element. The object of the Awards is to encourage Australian women writers to improve and advance Australian literature for the benefit of the community.
    30/07/2018

  • "The Darkest Minds" Film
    The newest craze in fantasy fiction has been turned into a thrilling action film - and the second trailer is finally here! Dive head first into the teenage mind of sixteen-year-old Ruby and watch her mysterious, yet powerful new abilities come to life on the big screen, as Divergent meets The Hunger Games this August, at a theatre near you. Make sure to get your hands on the brand new, film tie-in edition of the first book in this bestselling series, available to order on our website right now.
    12/07/2018

  • The Golden Man Booker Winner Announced
    Michael Ondaatje goes for gold - his 1992 novel, The English Patient, has been voted the best Man Booker winner in 50 years. The Golden Five, showcasing the winning books from Man Booker history that have best stood the test of time are: In a Free State by VS Naipaul, Moon Tiger by Penelope Lively, The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje, Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel and Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders.
    10/07/2018

  • 2018 Miles Franklin Shortlist Announced
    The final line-up celebrates contemporary Australian life, reflects upon our past, and looks beyond the now to visualise a not so distant future. The exemplary writing garners emotion and conveys meaning with finesse. Speaking on behalf of the judging panel, Mitchell Librarian of the State Library of NSW, Richard Neville, said: “The Miles Franklin 2018 shortlist engages with the complexities of Australian life in all of its phases, and the legacy of its timeless Indigenous past and its recent European present. All the novels explore how Australians connect with their complex stories, with their emotional histories, and with the legacy of colonisation. Each author in the shortlist considers what it means to live in a particular location, with unique and challenging vision. The vibrancy of contemporary Australian literature, and its relevance to thinking through the challenges of modern Australia, is confirmed with this diverse and intelligent shortlist.” The winner will be announced on Sunday, 26 August 2018.
    10/07/2018

  • In the News: Michael Wolff's Fire and Fury gives an inside look at Trump's first 9 months in the White House
    The first nine months of Donald Trump's term were stormy, outrageous - and absolutely mesmerising. Now, thanks to his deep access to the West Wing, bestselling author Michael Wolff tells the riveting story of how Trump launched a tenure as volatile and fiery as the man himself. In this explosive book, Wolff provides a wealth of new details about the chaos in the Oval Office. Among the revelations: What President Trump's staff really thinks of him What inspired Trump to claim he was wire-tapped by President Obama Why FBI director James Comey was really fired Why chief strategist Steve Bannon and Trump's son-in-law Jared Kushner couldn't be in the same room Who is really directing the Trump administration's strategy in the wake of Bannon's firing What the secret to communicating with Trump is What the Trump administration has in common with the movie The Producers Never before has a presidency so divided the American people. Brilliantly reported and astoundingly fresh, Michael Wolff's Fire and Fury shows us how and why Donald Trump has become the king of discord and disunion.
    09/01/2018

  • Prime Minister's Literary Award 2017- Winners Announced
    The 2017 Prime Minister’s Literary Award Winners were announced on Friday December 1st, 2017, and we were so pleased to see that Ryan O’Neill’s 'Their Brilliant Careers' take out the big prize for the Fiction category. This wonderful book is made up of fictional biographies of zany Australian writers, and it is a delight to read. Other category winners include Anthony Lawrence for 'Headwaters' (Poetry), Nicholas Rothwell for 'Quicksilver' (Non-Fiction), Elizabeth Tynan for 'Atomic Thunder' (Australian History), Cath Crowley for 'Words in Deep Blue' (Young Adult), Bob Graham for 'Home in the Rain' and Wendy Orr for 'Dragonfly Song' (Children's Fiction.)
    13/12/2017

  • Westbooks is Moving!
    We are moving premises on the 12th of October 2017. Please visit us at our new address, 152 Burswood Road, Burswood.
    10/10/2017


  • A Day of Literary Feasting at Nedlands Library
    Join the Nedlands Library Team on October 25 for A Day of Literary Feasting, featuring Dawn Barker, Steven Marcuson, Bernice Barry and Janelle McCulloch. Bookings are now open. Don't miss out on this full day of reading and writing, with a series of talks and workshops with acclaimed local authors. Register at the link below.
    27/09/2017

  • Nanowrimo is coming! Get ready to write…
    November is National Novel Writing Month. Make sure you like Westbooks on Facebook to be notified about events happening at Public Libraries around Western Australia, as well as to receive book recommendations. Librarians can check out our list of essential books on creative writing, which contains 30 books for 30 days of Nanowrimo motivation. Check out https://nanowrimo.org/ for information on Nanowrimo or to sign up and write a 50 000 word novel in the month of November.
    27/09/2017

  • Extinctions by Josephine Wilson wins the 2017 Miles Franklin Award
    West Australian readers everywhere were rejoicing last Thursday night when it was announced that Josephine Wilson's novel EXTINCTIONS had won the 2017 Miles Franklin Award. Wilson is the 5th West Australian to win the Award, with other past winners including Tim Winton and Elizabeth Jolley. Congratulations to Josephine and the team at UWA Publishing!
    11/09/2017

  • Introducing Diego and the Rangers of the Vastlantic
    Imagine a world where the past, present and future have collided. A world that is timeless. This is the world Diego Ribera was born into...For fans of Rick Riordan and Brian Selznick, author-artist Armand Baltazar introduces the first book in a new fantasy adventure series.Over 150 full-colour illustrations bring this cinematic story to life! Click on the links below to check out a behind the scenes interview with author Armand Baltazar. This book would make a wonderful prize book for end of year subject awards at your school, and gets two thumbs up from Westbooks Children's Literature Specialist, Heather.
    06/09/2017

  • 2017 Ned Kelly Award Shortlist
    Congratulations to the authors shortlisted for this year's Ned Kelly Award for Australian Crime Writing. This prize is always incredibly popular with readers and we were pleasantly surprised to see a real mix of cross-over titles as well as the usual fare for this year's list. For a full list of shortlistees and to order, please click on the ordering link below.
    22/08/2017

  • N K Jemisin wins 2017 Hugo Award for The Obelisk Gate
    Congratulations to N K Jemisin who took out the 2017 Hugo Award for Best Novel at the ceremony which took place on August 11th in Helsinki, Finland, for her novel The Obelisk Gate. The novel is second in a series of three, the first book of which (The Fifth Season) was also a Hugo winner. We have high hopes for book 3 which is called The Stone Sky, and look forward to the forthcoming television adaptation.
    22/08/2017

  • The 2017 Miles Franklin Award Longlist has been announced
    The 2017 Longlist for the Miles Franklin Award is: The Easy Way Out by Steven Amsterdam, An Isolated Incident by Emily Maguire, The Last Days of Ava Langdon by Mark O'Flynn, Their Brilliant Careers by Ryan O'Neill, A Loving, Faithful Animal by Josephine Rowe, Waiting by Philip Salom, Where the Trees Were by Inga Simpson, Hold by Kirsten Tranter and Extinctions by Josephine Wilson. Congratulations to everyone on the longlist. We look forward to the shortlist and winner being announced later in the year.
    02/05/2017