Western Australia's Specialist Library Supplier
  • Fast delivery
  • No minimum orders
  • No lock-in contracts
  • Competitive prices
  • Free metro delivery
  • (08) 9361 4211

News and Events

  • Westbooks is offering 20% off for all School Prize Books Ordered Online
    Prize Book season is almost upon us! Each year, hundreds of WA schools source books for end of year subject awards via Westbooks. We have the best range of titles across a number of subject areas. This year, schools will enjoy an increased discount of 20% off all Prize Books ordered online! Order early to make sure you don't miss out on the most popular titles-- such as the 2018 Guinness Book of World Records! Speak to your sales representative today about how Westbooks can help your school this prize season! (Please note that all books ordered via email, phone call, or in person with your sales consultant will be charged at the usual 15% discount. If you do not have an account, or require login details to access our site, please phone 9361 4211)

  • Naomi Alderman wins the 2017 Baileys Womens Prize for Fiction
    Overnight, Naomi Alderman was named the winner of the 2017 Baileys Prize for Fiction for her novel The Power. Previously, her debut novel Disobedience took out the 2006 Orange Award for New Writers, back when the award was still called the Orange Prize. The Baileys Prize is anonymously endowed, and winners receive thirty thousand pounds as well as the 'Bessie', a limited edition bronze figurine. From 2018, the prize will enter into a new sponsorship arrangement and will become the Women's Prize for Fiction.

  • Joiner Bay and Other Stories-- Out Now!
    Westbooks team member, Emily Paull, is one of the 17 authors to have a story in the latest Margaret River Short Story competition anthology, Joiner Bay and Other Stories. The book features first prize winning story, Joiner Bay by Brisbane writer, Laura Elvery, as well as Leslie Thiele's Harbour Lights, winner of the South West Writers Prize, sponsored by ECU Bunbury. WA writers included in this anthology include Jo Morrisson, Charlotte Guest, Emily Paull and Sophie McLelland.

  • 2017 Walker Books Australia School and Library Book Bonus is on again!
    The wonderful Walker Books offer is on again! This always a really popular offer. All you need to do is order $500RRP worth of Walker Books from Westbooks and Walker Books will donate a book pack valued at $500 to your library. Ask your sales representative for an order form and a copy of the cover sheet to claim your prize. All books ordered attract your usual Westbooks discount, so this is a very good offer to take up indeed! NEW FOR 2017, order your Walker Books offer online using www.westbooks.com.au Offer ends September 1, 2017. 500 fabulous titles (including some new for 2017) to choose from.

  • The 2017 Miles Franklin Award Longlist has been announced
    The 2017 Longlist for the Miles Franklin Award is: The Easy Way Out by Steven Amsterdam, An Isolated Incident by Emily Maguire, The Last Days of Ava Langdon by Mark O'Flynn, Their Brilliant Careers by Ryan O'Neill, A Loving, Faithful Animal by Josephine Rowe, Waiting by Philip Salom, Where the Trees Were by Inga Simpson, Hold by Kirsten Tranter and Extinctions by Josephine Wilson. Congratulations to everyone on the longlist. We look forward to the shortlist and winner being announced later in the year.

  • Heather Rose wins 2017 Stella Prize for The Museum of Modern Love
    The 2017 Stella Prize was announced on the 18th of April 2017, with the main prize going to Heather Rose for her novel 'The Museum of Modern Love.' 'This is a weirdly beautiful book.' David Walsh founder and curator, MONA'Life beats down and crushes the soul, and art reminds you that you have one.' Stella Adler'Art will wake you up. Art will break your heart. There will be glorious days. If you want eternity you must be fearless.' From The Museum of Modern LoveShe watched as the final hours of The Artist is Present passed by, sitter after sitter in a gaze with the woman across the table. Jane felt she had witnessed a thing of inexplicable beauty among humans who had been drawn to this art and had found the reflection of a great mystery. What are we? How should we live?If this was a dream, then he wanted to know when it would end. Maybe it would end if he went to see Lydia. But it was the one thing he was not allowed to do.Arky Levin is a film composer in New York separated from his wife, who has asked him to keep one devastating promise. One day he finds his way to The Atrium at MOMA and sees Marina Abramovic in The Artist is Present. The performance continues for seventy-five days and, as it unfolds, so does Arky. As he watches and meets other people drawn to the exhibit, he slowly starts to understand what might be missing in his life and what he must do.This dazzlingly original novel asks beguiling questions about the nature of art, life and love and finds a way to answer them.

  • Bailey's Womens Prize for Fiction Shortlist Announced
    The 2017 Bailey's Prize Shortlist is: Stay with Me by Ayobami Adebayo; The Power by Naomi Alderman; The Dark Circle by Linda Grant; The Sport of Kings by C E Morgan; First Love by Gwendoline Riley; Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien. The overall winner will be announced on June 7 2017.

  • CBCA Book of the Year Shortlist Announced
    Congratulations to all the authors shortlisted for the 2017 Childrens Book Council of Australia Book of the Year Awards. Special congratulations to local WA authors Meg Caddy (Waer) and Kylie Howarth (Chip) and best of luck for the big announcement later in the year. If you still need any of the CBCA shortlisted or notable books, speak to your customer service representative today or phone Westbooks reception on 9361 4211. Alternatively, if you have a Westbooks account, you can log in to order from our specially designed sales sheet. You can also use this sales sheet to order your Book Week 2017 'Escape to Everywhere' items.